Jo’s Popcorn Balls

My little sister, Jo always makes the best popcorn balls and I remember her making them for Halloween alot of times.
I thought it might be fun for Maddie and her friend to come home from school and have them waiting for them today but I sort of wondered if sister Jo's recipe couldn't be improved upon….
I found out there are a hundred Popcorn Ball recipes and all of them are different. I tried one that looked good to me but it turned out tasteless and really a potential tooth breaker…
I decided to quit fooling around and went back to Jo's tried and true…
It's the best and here it is….

Jo's Popcorn Balls
7 cups popped (white) popcorn
1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup corn syrup
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup butter
1 teaspoon vanilla

In a heavy saucepan melt together the sugar, water, corn syrup salt and butter. Cook on med. until 250 degrees on candy thermometer. Cook for 1 minute at this temp. Take off heat and add vanilla. Stir into popcorn. Butter your hands and roll into balls. It's hot!
I doubled all this for about 36 balls…
Have Fun…
Thinking of you, Joey!

About carylb

a late-blooming 52 year old stay-at- home mom of two and wife of one..knowing i don't have much of anything worthwhile to say on my own but wanting a place to pass on all the good stuff i hear and read and see...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment